Emptiness

I took a deep breath and opened my eyes. I had expected something to be outside.  But instead I was greeted with a wide expanse of blue nothingness. In the distance, white tuffs of smoke seemed to fly by.  The only place I had yet to look was down. So I did. Below was the same sky, the same emptiness. Holding onto the door, I glanced back at everything I knew. For the first time I saw something different in its ordinary abyss. It felt warm. Safe. I felt a cool breeze tussle my hair as I stood there, thinking back over my life. I soon dismissed the idea staying. How could I live when there was nothing to work towards? So I jumped away from the door. Away from my past, away from a future. I fell and fell and fell. Eventually, I stopped feeling.

Leave a Reply

