Beginning

I tried to be patient. Sat up in my bed, the world moving ever so slowly around me. The clock clicking, each second dragging out. I got up, pacing in the only place I ever knew. Each step following the last, the soft stomp the only other sound in the room. Times harsh tick continued. I finally stopped in front of the door. I waited, and waited, and waited. I needed something to happen soon. I steadily reached my hand out, inching it towards the closed-off door. Right as it was about to touch the handle, I heard a new noise. A knock so quiet one wouldn’t hear it at all. But I did. I unfastened the door and expected change. Nothing stood before me. And although there was nothing there I saw my way out. My path to the future finally unlocked. Before me was my new beginning.

Leave a Reply

